276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Diamond: BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS AN EPIC STORY: historical crime fiction at its most gripping

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Back home in London, she reluctantly re-joins the Soho family ‘firm’ she’d once been glad to leave behind.

Diamond Butcher is born to loving well-off parents whose father Warren owns clubs and doesn't come by money legally. What a story this is to read, so fast pace and so full of history as we read Diamonds dynamic journey, it keeps you on the edge of your seat chapter after chapter, I loved it all.When she manages to escape at the end of the First World War, she leaves behind her a mystery - and a dead man. For fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers, as well as viewers of Peaky Blinders , this is historical crime fiction at its most compelling.

This gritty raunchy rollicking adventure has all sorts of dangerous twists and turns that keep you turning the pages. At first I thought I would give this book a go and I'm glad that I dis from the first chapter till the last it was so different . A fabulous protagonist in the guise of Diamond Butcher, who reinvents herself as Diamond Dupree, and set in London and Paris in the early twentieth century, covering the period before and after WW1. There she meets again the handsome Earl, Richard Beaumont and ignites a love affair doomed by the differences in class. Containing steamy sex scenes, graphic gangland violence, murder and even an execution scene this isn’t a book for the faint hearted but it’s certainly a real page turner.Her mother's 'friend' in Paris, Mimi, isn't all she seems to be and exploits Diamond whenever she can. Back home in London, she reluctantly re-joins the Soho family 'firm' she'd once been glad to leave behind.

Diamond Butcher is the daughter of Warren and Frenchie Butcher, and big sister to Aiden and Owen, who was brain damaged at birth. Her father died when she was a teenager and she fled to London to escape grim reality, finding there a lifelong fascination with the criminal underworld and the teeming life of the city. Thanks to Courtney at EdPr for the gorgeous gifted proof and finished copy 😍 in exchange for an Honest review. Diamond is slightly different to her previous books as it begins in the early years of the last century.

The oldest and only girl in a family of London thieves, reinvented as Diamond Dupree, the latest Paris ‘it girl’ - the lover of an aristocrat, fearless and beautiful she is so compelling and a great female character. When Diamond’s dad Warren is murdered, his brother Victor takes over the empty place left in both the gang and his home. But can she escape the long arm of the law and the hangman’s noose, when the crimes of her past finally catch up with her? Slightly different for Jessie a tale set way back Pre War with the Butcher family, after a series of events eldest daughter Diamond flees to Paris where her mother is from. Diamond Butcher is a formidable woman who has survived so much trauma in her life both in her earlier years in England after her fathers untimely death and then in her time spent in Paris.

I have really enjoyed reading of Diamond and her life my only regret was the ending i hoped it would of been better. The baddies are well-drawn too and I certainly wouldn't want to be anywhere near them or in the middle of one of their fights. But can she escape the long arm of the law and the hangman's noose, when the crimes of her past finally catch up with her?

She was born rich, in the back of her gran's barrel top wagon, and her family thrived until their firm crashed into bankruptcy and became poor. But found it a little confusing the way it melded from one character to another, when I thought I was reading about one character it had swapped to somebody else and that was a bit irritating.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment